Tip | India’s 29 States and 7 Union Territories – From Andhra Pradesh to West Bengal

States and Union Territories
India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive. The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 29 states and 7 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc. This section introduces you to the various States/UTs in the Country and urges you to explore their magnificent uniqueness…

Source: http://www.knowindia.gov.in/knowindia/state_uts.php
Date accessed: 12 August 2015

[Bold typeface added above for emphasis]

About website administrator

Secretary of the foundation
This entry was posted in Constitution and Supreme Court, Democracy, Economy and development, Education and literacy, Figures, census and other statistics, Government of India, History, Languages and linguistic heritage, Nature and wildlife, Quotes, Regions of India, Seasons and festivals, Tips, Tourism, Women, Worship and rituals. Bookmark the permalink.