India’s tribal cultural heritage: An alphabetical journey – Goa and two Union territories (Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu)

There are 29 states and 7 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. | Learn more >>

States and Capitals

  1. Goa (Panaji)
    Related posts on >>

Union Territories and Capitals

  1. Dadra and Nagar Haveli (Silvassa)
    Related posts on >>
  2. Daman and Diu (Daman)
    Related posts on >>


States and Union Territories do not generally account for persons with “tribal roots”, unless they are home to people recognized as members of a  Scheduled Tribe (ST) under the constitution of India. Yet countless people with “tribal roots” live in metropolitan and touristic areas such as Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Goa, Kolkata, Mumbai. Their ranks include students, professionals, scientists and employees working for government agencies, educational institutions, banks and businesses.

While an educated person with tribal roots may be lauded for being assimilated as “main stream”, many others remain unnoticed even by their neighbours and local authorities. Their ranks include vulnerable boys and girls – many among them working as live-in maids – who “simply disappear” from their villages without a trace. They are being lured in growing numbers, often with false promises of a “good job” in the city. | Rescue and rehabilitation measures for victims of human trafficking and child abuse >>

How many Scheduled Tribes have been identified so far?

There are over 700 tribes (with overlapping communities in more than one State) which have been notified under Article 342 of the Constitution of India, spread over different States and Union Territories of the country. The largest number of main tribal communities (62) has been specified in relation to the State of Orissa.  The Scheduled Tribes have been specified in relation to all the States and Union Territories except Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh, Delhi, and Pondicherry […]

Source: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS | National Commission for Scheduled Tribes
Date Visited: Mon Apr 10 2017 11:41:28 GMT+0200 (CEST)


About website administrator

Secretary of the foundation
This entry was posted in Constitution and Supreme Court, Democracy, Ecology and environment, Economy and development, Figures, census and other statistics, Government of India, Languages and linguistic heritage, Literature and bibliographies, Maps, Museum collections - India, Organizations, Regions of India, Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Success story, Tips, Tourism. Bookmark the permalink.