eJournal | The New Institutionalized Religion of the Tangsa Community – Assam & Arunachal Pradesh

Best of All Worlds: Rangfraism: The New Institutionalized Religion of the Tangsa Community in Northeast India” by Meenaxi Barkataki-Ruscheweyh: Asienforum, International Quarterly for Asian Studies, Vol. 46, Issue 1-2, May 2015, Contemporary Indigeneity and Religion in India | Download the full article as PDF >>


In recent years, elites in many small ethnic communities in northeast India have made attempts to revive, reform and institutionalize their traditional religious practices in order to stem the tide of conversion to world religions and also to use their new religion as a marker for their ethnic identity. In this paper, I focus on the small Tangsa community, living in the northeast Indian states of Assam and Arunachal Pradesh, and try to understand the processes and intentions that underlie the form­ation of their new reformed religion called Rangfraism. Friction with Christian mis­sionaries and interaction with Hindu activists in this remote hilly frontier region have played a big role in the process of transforming their traditional system into their “new” religion. I try to ascertain which of the older practices have been re­tained, which have been adopted from other revival movements in the area and which have been appropriated from Christianity and Hinduism. While it will be clear that the leaders have attempted to take the best from all quarters in order to make their new religion more attractive, the analysis will also demonstrate how that very strategy has led to internal contradictions and, hence, to confusion and resistance.


“Tangsa”, meaning “children of the hills”, is an umbrella term for about 35 different trans-Patkai ethnic groups,1 arguably related to the Naga, who entered India from the slopes of the Patkai hills in present-day Myanmar at different points of time in the past, but mostly within the last 100 years, and have settled in the plains of the northeast Indian states of Assam and Arunachal Pradesh. There are no more than 60,000 Tangsa living in India at the moment; many more Tangsa still live in the Sagaing division of Myanmar on the other side of the Patkai range.

The easternmost part of Indian hill state of Arunachal bordering Myanmar is home to many ethnic communities besides the Tangsa, such as the Singpho (known as Jingphaw or Kachin in Myanmar), the Wancho and the Nocte. The state of Assam, in the valley of the Brahmaputra, is home to many ethnic communities as well as to the mainstream Assamese-speaking predominantly Hindu population. […]

Source: Meenaxi Barkataki-Ruscheweyh: Best of All Worlds: Rangfraism. The New Institutionalized Religion of the Tangsa Community in Northeast India, pp. 149-167 | Asian Studies
Address: https://asianstudies.arnold-bergstraesser.de/en/node/127827
Date Visited: Sat Dec 12 2015 12:45:00 GMT+0100 (CET)


  • For more information, type “Tangsa Assam”, “Tangsa Arunachal Pradesh”, Naga Assam”, “Rangfraism”, “Northeast India tribal customs” or similar search terms into the search window here: Google custom search – Indian press coverage of tribal culture and education >>
  • Do the same on the Safe Search website >>
  • Use the WorldCat.org search field seen here for authors or titles dealing with the above mentioned topics (e.g. “Meenaxi Barkataki-Ruscheweyh”):

Publications on the above issues may be found here (title descriptions and libraries):


Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

“The uniqueness of northeast states of India lies in their cultures” | Learn more about the Seven Sister States >>

Learn more about India’s eight North Eastern states: The “Seven Sister States” & Sikkim

  1. Arunachal Pradesh
  2. Assam
  3. Manipur
  4. Meghalaya
  5. Mizoram
  6. Nagaland
  7. Tripura
  8. Sikkim

Search tips: for up-to-date reports about this region’s cultural heritage, combine the name of any state with that of some of its communities or languages; or with any topic of special interest to you: e.g. “Arunachala Pradesh weaving”, “Manipur tattoo”, “Meghalaya poetry”, “Sikkim biodiversity”, “Mizoram education”, “Sikkim music” etc.

For a list of websites included in a single search, see below. To find publishing details for Shodhganga’s PhD search results, click here. To search Indian magazines, web portals and other sources safely, click here >>

Try the following in case Google Custom Search window or media contents are invisible here: (1) switch from “Reader” to regular viewing; (2) in browser’s Security settings select “Enable JavaScript”; (3) check Google support for browsers and devices | More >>

List of websites covered by this Google custom search engine

  1. Academia.edu (platform for academics to share research papers) – www.academia.edu
  2. Archive.org – https://archive.org
  3. Asia Society – https://asiasociety.org
  4. Down To Earth (India) – www.downtoearth.org.in
  5. Harnessing Nature (IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management South Asia Regional Network) – https://harnessingnatureblog.wordpress.com
  6. International Institute for Asian Studies – www.iias.nl
  7. M S Swaminathan Research Foundation – www.mssrf.org
  8. Navdanya (protecting India’s biodiversity based food heritage) – https://navdanya.org
  9. Third World Network (Penang, Malaysia) – https://twn.my
  10. The Shola Trust (nature conservation in the Nilgiri region) – www.thesholatrust.org

About website administrator

Secretary of the foundation
This entry was posted in Anthropology, Assimilation, Customs, eBook & eJournal, Figures, census and other statistics, History, Literature and bibliographies, Misconceptions, Modernity, Names and communities, Quotes, Seasons and festivals, Seven Sister States & Sikkim – North Eastern Council, Worship and rituals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.