Plan your own musical journey around the “Seven Sister States” – Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland & Tripura

Start your musical journey by watching a beautiful video taken in Shillong (Meghalaya). Then discover which other forms of music and dance are being practiced by the tribal communities of the “Seven Sister States” today.

Khasi music revival – the stories of two young duitara players from Indian Tribal Heritage on Vimeo.

Media contents is easy to find, especially with the help of the following tips.

Find out for yourself and enjoy your musical journey!


  • Find more resources by typing “Seven Sister States”, “Meghalaya musical heritage”, “Mizoram tribal instrument”, “Assam music video”, “Tripura singer” or any other combination of keywords here: Search select periodicals >>
  • Do the same in the search field seen below


Search for an item in libraries near you: >>

List of states commonly referred to as the “Seven Sister States”

Related posts

See also

Audio | Santali Traditional and Fusion Songs: Ghosaldanga Bishnubati Adibasi Trust – West Bengal

Crafts and visual arts | Masks

Cultural heritage

India’s tribal, folk and devotional music: Secular and ceremonial songs

Memory of the World Programme – Unesco


Music and dance | Musicology | Adivasi music and the public stage by Jayasri Banerjee

Performing arts

Revival of traditions

Seasons and festivals

Success story

Video | Banam lutes and fiddles of the Santal people – Jharkhand & West Bengal

Video | Celestial Dancers of Manipur

Video | Cultural traditions of the Halakki people – Karnataka

Video | Khasi musical heritage of Meghalaya

Video | Kota women’s dance: Shivaratri celebrations – Nilgiris – Tamil Nadu

Video | More than simply a theatre company, set up for a total experience: Trimukhi Platform – West Bengal

Video | Santali video album “Ale Ato” (Our Village, Part 1 of 2) – West Bengal

Video | South Gujarat tribal music documentation by Bhasha – Gujarat

Video | Tribes in Transition-III: “Indigenous Cultures in the Digital Era”

Video | Safe contents for educational use on many topics (music, visual arts and more)

Tips for using interactive maps

Toggle to normal view (from reader view) should the interactive map not be displayed by your tablet, smartphone or pc browser

For details and hyperlinks click on the rectangular button (left on the map’s header)

Scroll and click on one of the markers for information of special interest

Explore India’s tribal cultural heritage with the help of another interactive map >>