Tribal areas under the Constitution of India

Tribal areas generally mean areas having preponderance of tribal population. However, the Constitution of India refers tribal areas within the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura & Mizoram, as those areas specified in Parts I, II, IIA & III of the table appended to paragraph 20 of the Sixth Schedule. In other words, areas where provisions of Sixth Schedule are applicable are known as Tribal Areas. […]

Source: Ministry of Tribal Affairs
Address :
Date Visited: Sat Jun 25 2011 01:46:22 GMT+0200 (CEST)

A constitution which guarantees: “The State shall not discriminate against any citizen” – The Sovereign Republic of India

Search tips | Names of tribal communities, regions and states of India

PVTG – Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups listed by the Government of India (interactive map)

Publishers & distributors: Books and journals on Indian tribal culture

An alphabetical journey across India (interactive map)

Map | Seven Sister States of northeastern India

Tips for using posts

About website administrator

Secretary of the foundation
This entry was posted in Constitution and Supreme Court, Government of India, Seven Sister States & Sikkim – North Eastern Council. Bookmark the permalink.